EARNED INCOME TAX CREDIT (EITC)
Rate (Non-refundable): 20% of the federal credit
Latest Legislative Action: On March 22, 2023, Gov. Spencer Cox signed H.B.54, expanding the state EITC from 15% to 20$ of the federal rate.
- Utah Governor Spencer Cox signed legislation to enact a state EITC as part of a larger tax cut bill.
CHILD TAX CREDIT (CTC)
Rate (Non-refundable): $1,000 per child ages 1-3
- Eligible filers with married filing separately status who earn $27,000 or less.
- Eligible filers with single filing status who earn $43,000 or less.
- Eligible filers with a joint filing status who earn $54,000 or less.
- All qualifying children must be at least one year old and under the age of four.
Latest Legislative Actions: On March 22, 2023, Gov. Spencer Cox signed H.B.170, enacting the state’s first CTC. The new, non-refundable state CTC is valued at $1,000 per eligible child ages 1-3. The bill takes effect for a taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2024.1
CHILD AND DEPENDENT CARE TAX CREDIT (CDCTC)
Utah does not currently offer a state-level CDCTC.
- H.B.170, Utah State Legislature